Confessions of a Shopaholic – how it all began for me

So how did I come around in liking this Confessions of a Shopaholic book so much? Well, it just so happened that I was walking aimlessly one night and found myself entering the book store Page One in Central. So there I was strolling along endless rows of books when this hot pink cover with the word “SHOPAHOLIC” caught my attention, hehe. Yes ladies, and that was how my obsession with the Shopaholic books started.

Now you can imagine the excitement I must have had when I heard that a movie was going to be released based on the book by Sophie Kinsella. After a long wait, the time had finally arrived and on March 2nd, 2009, my best mate Conni and I hit the big screens with much anticipation for it (well, that was how I felt). It was quite funny because I felt exactly the same way I felt when I went to watch the “Sex and the City” movie, and it was as if an addiction of some sort was dying to blow out.

Overall, I must say, the movie did not give me the WOW factor but I still loved it dearly and was in tears from laughing, especially the scene where Isla Fisher does her dancing moves in Miami with the ever so charming bloke Luke Brandon, as played by Hugh Dancy. Yeah, I actually find quite a charm in men of his looks lately, which quite honestly is not my cup of tea normally. Probably it was his British accent and wit, hahaha. I also think Isla Fisher was the perfect role to play Becky Bloomwood. She was so funny and clueless in her own sweet ways.

After watching this movie, I can honestly admit that I am not a shopaholic!!!! Yes, there I was thinking if I should go to therapy, lol.  I am clearly not as crazy as Rebecca Bloomwood and I would never ever go to the extreme that she did just for the sake of a Gucci bag, Jimmy Choo stilettos, or whatever designer label product you can think of. Then again, I went to the Bazaar sale last night in Harbor City Shopping mall with Harriet. She is pure evil because she told me about the sale when I said I was on a budget!!!! Anyhow, I managed to control myself and limited myself to only buying the Molton Brown body scrub and de- stressing hair condition, which I so needed (yeah right). I mean, it only came down to a total of HK$180 and for MOLTON BROWN!!!?!?!? I say that is too good of a bargain to be missed. Yes, we always give ourselves excuses when we want something, and take this coming from a woman who loves to shop. Crap, did I just say love and shop in the same sentence?:P

I have uploaded some photos as taken from certain scenes of the movie so click on it to see a close up, hehe.  Now i gotta say, I love that photo of Becky and Luke at the hot dog stand. That was their first encounter and what he did for her during one of her shopping crisis  was really sweet in a funny way but lets not spill the beans here for those who have yet to watch it. As for that hideous neon pink dress with rainbow colored ruffles, it just ties in with a superficial way of testing friendship to the next level, very meaningful dress I shall put it ;-) And did I mention, I want that freaking pink MAC lap top!!!  I have also uploaded the movie trailer and I must say, I still have a smile on my face when I watch it:)

After the movie, Conni and I decided to chill at a nearby cafe and it was a perfect way to end the night before starting a gruesome day at work again the very next morning. Oh my…..I gotta stay more optimistic as with the given economical situation, I should be glad I got a job right? :) Anyhow, I had a really fun girls night out and it was just great catching up with old friends . By the way,the Irish Baileys Cheesecake was really yummy. Its a must try if you ever drop by Hong Kong, and its right opposite the Times Square shopping mall in Causeway Bay so it is easy to spot. As for the Keylime cake that Conni had, i am afraid it is a pass for moi as i am not a fan of the sour but by all means, try it if its to your liking, lol.

 

 

 Oh my god, its getting late so I better get some beauty sleep. Nitezzzzzzzzzzz

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, Movie

One response to “Confessions of a Shopaholic – how it all began for me

  1. cheesy8

    To tell u honestly…I’m almost went nuts waiting for Shopaholic arrived in KL! If u ever spare sometime on my blog…u’ll know how far I would go for the premiere movie…now that I watched it I’m so glad it’s so much fun!

    In fact, I dun mind it’s not the same as the book coz to me…I can still see Becky’s in there…and that’s what matter…..hehehe

Leave a Reply

