7 things to do this summer…

It has been non stop rainy weather for the past few weeks that i started to question if i was in London.  Just the other night there was thunder and lightening, which managed to scare the heck outta me every single time, where I do this little jump (or a small whisper “omg”). Meanwhile,  it has also been extremely humid and hot where the temperatures rise as high as 30 degrees Celsius!!! Apart from the humidity,  i have to admit, i am really looking forward in doing more summery things as  we approach summer.

With a little prep work and putting some thoughts into it,  I have come up with 7 ways to make your summer a little bit more fun. So ready or not, here it is.

1. Cycling

I’ve recently picked up cycling again for the past year or so, and i already can’t wait to hop on a bike and start my adventure. So far i’ve only cycled in the New Territories area of Hong Kong and it is definitely worth a go. The journey from Tai Po to Tai Wai (or vice versa) has a friendly cycling route, where you can witness Hong Kong’s nature surpassing  high mountains, rivers, and greenery.

Wherever you are now, i say you hop on that bike this weekend and start your journey. I’m sure you will find it inspiring and a good break from your daily routines.

2. Froyo/Ice cream

Froyo and ice cream are another fave food that i crave once i feel the boiling temperatures. That cooling and sweet sensation in my taste buds is enough to put a smile on my face. I tend to go for froyos with fruits now as i try to be more healthy.

One of my fave froyo place to hang out at is Yo MaMa,  where my friends and i sit there “MMmmmmmmmmmm’ing” over our dessert whilst catching up. Okay fine, the “MMmmmmm” has died down a bit since i go there quite frequently,lol.

3. Beaches

I don’t actually do this enough but i always imagine trips down the beach where i can spend the whole afternoon there doing nothing. I find it very relaxing to lay down on the warm sand as i hear the waves crashing against the shore. That mind easing sound makes me feel more connected to nature and allows me to leave all of my worries behind for a while. Not to mention, i can get a lovely tan!!!

4. Perfumes

Perfume is a must have in my daily life style.  There is not one day i do not leave my home without spraying perfume on, apart from the times when i was too sick to even care about smelling good. It’s one of the easiest way to freshen yourself up if you have one of those last min emergency dates to go to.

I like perfumes that are fresh and mild in sweetness during the summer. Right now i am thinking to get Daisy by Marc Jacobs.

5. Summer dresses and skirts

The best part about summer is that you can bring out all your girlie dresses, mini skirts, and wear things as colorful as you want, without feeling out of place.

The feeling of loose silk or polyester fabrics against your skin is for sure to make you feel fabulous! Sometimes i do get a little kiddy as well, and the temptation of doing a small twirl with my skirt kicks in!!!

6. Sandals

Summer is also the time you can wear sandals and finally let your feet out to breath and flash it to the world!  The ease of walking in sandals is a no brainer and not to mention the variety of summer sandals that are out there waiting for us!

I don’t know about you but I always feel like a kid in a candy shop when i go shoe shopping. Of course, pedicures are essential in such situations and being a nail polish freak that i am, i couldn’t have asked for more.

7. Vibrant nail polishes

Nail polish is a must for me all year round and with the hot summer time, i take the advantage and try to go with more vibrant colors. Lately i have been liking the pastel tones, and i really want to get the minty color. For those that are color shy, I suggest you to try out with the pastel tones first. If you feel more comfortable after a while, you can try to experiment with more bright colors and just have fun!

I’m not sure about you ladies, but a bright and clean manicure always gets me in a better mood!

What about you? Are there some things that you love to do or suggest to do during the summer time??? Please feel free to add to the list!!!

7 Comments

Filed under fashion, Fun

7 responses to “7 things to do this summer…

  1. Lovin’ the blue nail polish – matches mine from the last pedi.

  2. I can’t wait for summer, although we had thunder and lightening last night, so I don’t think summer will come to London anytime soon!
    Love this list of activities. I can’t wait to wear summer dresses and skirts!

  3. I love the Summer and I agree, the weather has been so crazy lately in HK. I don’t mind the rain but it’s the heat that really gets me. Definitely time for the air con and time to get rid of the duvet!

  4. I told James we should get bikes once we move into our own place :) I love froyo too. Just had a taro-flavored one last night at a local place call Mixx. It was so good! Bright colored nail polishes instantly put me in a good mood too :)

  5. Clare

    ah I LOVE THIS LIST! I want to do everything on it. I love this . This made me incredible happy :)
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  6. Cinz – totally know what you mean. I’m dying here in HK cause it’s so humid! Leaving the apartment is like jumping into a sauna, ick. I’m glad it’s started to be sunnier and less rainy though :) I love dresses in the summer and buying new sandals! Haven’t had too much luck in the shopping department so far here in HK, but I’m hoping that will change soon!

  7. Such a great post! It’s been rainy here too (we must live close to each other!) My fave thing on that list is surprisingly not fashion related…froyo! I’m addicted to that stuff. Sooooo delicious and refreshing. But of course, the nail polish, dresses, sandals, etc etc…I wouldn’t mind a bit of that too. ;)

Leave a Reply

