What’s your scent?

A fragrance is more than just a scent and smell.  To me, a fragrance (perfume/cologne) goes much more in depth than that, where it is a statement of ones identity and projects back on your personality and life style. It creates memories.

It could be that mid 30s French woman who just got off work from a stressful day and sits in a bar sipping on a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon, whilst her seductive Chanel Coco Mademoiselle scent is distinctively present amongst the crowd. Or it can be that sweet 16 teenage girl who is on her first date, longing to be loved, and sprays on a hint of Gwen Stefani’s sweet and playful scented perfume, Harajuku lovers Music. I like to believe that the majority of women out there are constantly looking for that unique scent that signifies them.

Recently i have discovered a new scent that i have fallen completely head over heels in, and that does not happen often (i still do love my Chloe very dearly). This new found love of mine is Hermes Au Jardin Sur Le Toit. It is not too strong of a scent where it has this really fresh and summery smell to it, without being too overbearing. Is is definitely a great choice for a summer perfume.

I was lucky enough to have a friend who bought this perfume yesterday at the Hong Kong airport while on her way coming into town, and she got a free smaller bottle along with her purchase! Of course, being the sweet darling that she is, she gave it to me.

The small bottle size is also perfect to just pop into my bag, where i can spray a quick hint of summer paradise whenever i need to freshen up. It is really the small things that counts after all, right?

Do you have a favorite perfume scent?

9 Comments

Filed under Beauty, fashion

9 responses to “What’s your scent?

  1. I was once a Harajuku “Music” fan when I was 16…but then I recently made the switch to my Coco Mademoiselle when I got it as a gift. It has always been my favourite scent and have been eyeing it for years. I just love the aesthetic of it. It reminds me of Paris in a bottle. =)
    Check out my recent post on it:
    http://tseparfait.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/weekend-love-fragrance/

  2. I love it when perfumes come with smaller bottles. One of my favourites for a little while is Vera Wang’s Princess, it’s such an easy scent to wear so after Christmas, I was quick to purchase a hugely discounted gift set featuring a little perfume alongside the big one which is the handiest thing! I like finding perfumes not too many people wear – there is nothing more annoying when ‘your’ perfume is worn by every other person you walk past! I have really loved Lanvin’s Jeanne and I’m looking to Jo Malone or Penhaligon’s for a new scent in the Autumn!

  3. Such a timely article :) My fave scents include Narciso Rodrigez For Her, Miss Dior Cherie, Sisley Number 2, Coco Mademoiselle, Lancome Poeme… and many more. I like to have a wide selection of scents so I could spritz a scent in accordance to my mood ;)

  4. I have so many favourite scents, I could never narrow it down. My dressing table always has at least about 10 perfumes. I do love Givenchy and Hugo Boss though.

  5. Clare

    My scent is BLV Blu II. It is so light and airy. I love it!
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  6. I’m glad you found a wonderful perfume that suits you perfectly! unfortunately I am not really a perfume person at all so I can’t really comment on my favourites. I do tend to like really sweet and girly scents though! :)

  7. I completely agree! I love the idea of a signature scent..currently I’m using Rose du Desert but I also like euphoria if i’m going out at night :)

  8. Lovely writing! My first perfume as a 13 year old girl was Miss Dior Cherie, and that was my perfume up until recently. Upon turning 18 I started experiencing some other scents. I now have many perfumes, though
    Dolce Vita by Dior is my signature.
    xx

  9. Mine is Hanae Mori Butterfly. I usually don’t wear perfume because I’m so sensitive to the smell but I love this one. It’s sweet and subtle…perfect for a special occasion :)

Leave a Reply

