Winter nail polish fun

Waking up to chilly mornings in the winter time is always no fun, at least not for me. But there is nothing where a little bit of nail polish fun that can’t brighten those dull winter days that are here to stay for a while.  One of the top beauty fun things i like to do is go out and look for some new nail polishes that suits the season. This time of the year is when i tend to shy away from summery and bright nail polishes and bring out the more wintery and earthy toned nail polishes.

americanapparel1

With my recent trip to Vancouver where i had my first Christmas there, i managed to buy some lovely nail polishes from American Apparel.   I popped into the shop following my friend’s lead where i could already sense a style that was nowhere close to mine, with their casual attire to my left and right, I quickly had my eyes directed to the cashier. That was the moment i saw this tall and big see through plastic shelf holding these gorgeous and colorful nail polishes that was calling out my name. There were so many varieties ranging from neon, metallic, glitter, glow in the dark, sheer, to their normal nail polish colors to choose from. It almost felt like being this young girl in the candy shop and drooling over everything!

Americanapparel1Peacock, Mount Royal, and Hunter

I had my heart set on getting more wintery color tones and i stuck to my guns. I gave sheer and neon a try but it was not working for me. I finally chose 3 more darker tones, with the dark turquoise “Peacock”,  dark blue “Mount Royal” and dark green “Hunter”, and. To add a bit of fun, i also got the golden glitter “Meteor Shower” and rainbow glitter “Supernova”, to kick some life to those nails of mine. I have not tried them yet and as this is my very first time using nail polish from American Apparel, i am really excited to try them out. Chinese new year is arriving next month so it’s the perfect time to try the glittery ones out!

americanapparel2Meteor Shower and Supernova

Which nail polish brands are your favorites? and what do you think of the American Apparel nail polishes?

6 Comments

Filed under Beauty, fashion

6 responses to “Winter nail polish fun

  1. I love fun and sparkly nail polish, especially in the winter. They definitely brighten up the dull days. The Hunter shade looks amazing.

  2. I love the gold polish – such a fun way to spice up your nails :)

    XO
    Pearls & Paws

  3. lovely nail polish! I love all of them <3

    Caroline
    Please feel free to join my giveaway : $80 MsDressy Gift Voucher

    http://missoline.com/

  4. Shirley

    Love all those nail polish colors!!! U inspired me! I’m gonna go and change my nail polish color this weekend ;)

  5. May

    It might sound a little strange but I tend to apply nail polish when I need to relax…it’s almost like a little me time when I can just sit and watch a movie and not do anything whilst my nails dry…red is usually my favourite! Hope you had a lovely trip in Vancouver…sounds like a lovely place to relax and watch the snow!
    And thank you so much for the lovely New Year’s wishes and kind comment on my recent Qipao look…you are too sweet! Also a very Happy Chinese New Year in advance….Gong Hei Fhat Choi! May the year of the snake bring you lots of happiness!
    May xx
    http://www.walkinginmay.com

Leave a Reply

