My birthday celebration…

Gosh, i can’t believe it’s been almost 2 weeks since i last blogged. I am so over due for my birthday post and i feel like my birthday just flew past in a flash!  I just don’t know where the time goes sometimes. But one thing for sure, i had a special birthday with a lot of love, happiness, gifts, and yummy food!!!  I actually had quite a few eating outs during my birthday celebration so i think i’ll be making another post for my special birthday, or else i might be bombarding this post with photos, lol.

So  my BBF was super sweet and took me to this lovely Italian restaurant called Bistecca, located in Central.  The restaurant is quite hidden and you have to go into this building and take the lifts to get there but i like how it’s  secretive and not so out in the known. To begin with, the atmosphere was really relaxing where they had dim lighting and friendly staffs that served us.  FYI, i know the photo below of the restaurant looks bright but it’s because of my camera, it always makes dark places look bright!

Anyhow, the food was absolutely delicious and everything just fell in place, good food with good company:) For starters we had this cheese fondue with bruschetta bread and it was heavenly divine.  I loved that taste of the warm and soft cheese fondue against the crispy bruschetta bread, it was just the perfect combination. I’ve actually never had bruschetta bread with cheese fondue before and i’m not sure if this is an Italian dish? Do you guys know? We had a fillet steak and Linguine Vongole (clams in white wine sauce) for  the main course. The fillet steak was really juicy where the texture and softness was just right to my tasting and paired with a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon just cut the deal!  It’s really one of the best Cabernet Sauvignon i’ve ever tried in Hong Kong so far. Too bad, i forgot what the name of the wine was. The Linguine Vongole was a bit disappointing as it tasted a bit bland and the spaghetti could have been cooked for a little longer. But i’ve tried worst, lol.

I was really looking forward to my dessert as i got a major sweet tooth and i gotta say, they did not fail to impress me! I ordered a very simple  blueberry Cheesecake with a scoop of Pistachio ice cream but the taste was more than just simple!!! The cheese cake was so rich and the pistachio flavor was so delish!!! My BFF ordered an Espresso slush dessert thingie, which did not taste good at all. We both changed faces when we took a bite of it so i would definitely not recommend this little sucker, ladies. It was such a fun night and we chatted til closing time and as usual, happy times flies by in a blink of an eye. We ended the night there as my friend had work the next day on a Sunday. Yes, you heard me right,  Sunday! So crazy right!!!

My sister was real sweet and sent me a little birthday gift this year. She got me this black top with these cute ruffled sleeves and this red studded belt from French Connection. I super super love the birthday card she got me, it’s so girlie, so me, hehe.  I could tell she put some thoughts into picking that card, lol. I was truly happy when i received her parcel, thanks sis if you’re reading this!!

My sister also got me this Jo Malone perfume and she just happened to have bought me the scent that i like! Now that is what i call sisters think a like, lol. She got me the Nectarine Blossom & Honey scent and funny enough, i bought the exact same one when i was in London last summer.  You can see more of my Europe trip and my purchases  here. It’s good to have a spare one though because Jo Malone is so expensive in Hong Kong. The big sized bottled 100ML costs HK$900 over here, whereas in the UK it’s £65 (HK$787) or something along the lines of that. Quite a difference in price, eh?

One of my other good friend got me this really thoughtful gift. She bought me a 2012 organizer from Moleskine. It’s a practical gift as i always use an organizer and i love to write down all my what to dos and what to buys, lol.  The cover of the organizer is really soft and it has adhesive labels inside to write down important dates, payments, events, meetings, and etc. It’s pretty neat and you can click on the link above to find out more about their products. It’s definitely a good purchase for people that like to organize and manage their time well;)

She also got me this really cute self grow plant in a teddy bear pot. The bear is called Rilakkuma and it’s a really famous Japanese character and of course, i would know nothing about this as  i don’t like cutsey stuff! lol My friend had to explain who this little Ms. Rilakkuma was, haha. I’ve been taking photos to capture her growth as well. Here are a few snapshots i took.

Day 1

Day 7

Okay, this update will have to do for now because it’s already 12:30am and i got work tomorrow morning!!! But I’ll be back real soon:)

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Fun

5 responses to “My birthday celebration…

  1. swisshera

    Oh wow, lots of celebrations and love!!!!!!

  2. Glad you had such a great Birthday! I love the presents you got. The Jo Malone Perfume is meant to smell great! And the teddy beaer plant pot is the most adorable thing ever!!

  3. Looks like you got tons of fabulous gifts!!!

    xoxo,
    Mel

  4. Ooh, your birthday celebration looked so lovely! Seemed really perfect and classy too. Just the way I’d like to celebrate mine any year. 😉 You’re superbly blessed, C! And those gifts are wonderful! So glad you had an incredible one. Totally deserving. 🙂

    p/s: That self-grow plant in the teddy bear pot is TOO cute! Haha. Loved how it looks on day 7! x

  5. happy to hear you had a fabulous birthday babe!!
    That perfume is gorgeous, it is one of my favourite scents. & I need to get myself one of those little teddy bear plant pots 😉

    xx

Leave a Reply

