New Year “Words” 2012

I’ve never really been much of a New Year’s resolution type of person and while i do occasionally think about it, nothing ever gets written down on paper nor do actions get executed.

My new moleskin agenda for 2012

But much to my surprise, this all changed when i stumbled upon the blog camilliestyles, which  truly inspired me. From this blog, i discovered a brilliant and different way to create a New Year’s resolution. There is an element of creativity involved, where you choose your own words and photos to create your New Year’s resolutions, which is a fun enough approach to get me excitingly dancing on my tippy toes!!!

As this is my first proper written down New Year’s resolution on this blog (and my life), i have thought deeply and clearly about what i hope to achieve this year and hopefully, many years down the line. May this be a constant reminder for myself to keep focus and have a balance in life.

To keep it short and sweet, and to the point, i’ve come up with 3 words. And while i know we have entered February and i’m a tad bit behind in doing this, i always think  “better later than never”.

So ready or not, here are my New Year words!!!

  • Learn to love myself before loving others
  • Cherish loved ones – families, friends, and anybody that has made a difference in my life
  • Live life to the fullest with no regret
  • Smile and stay positive and if i fall off track, always pick myself up and keep going
  • Eat healthy and wisely but treat myself to the occasional treats (aka junk food!)
  • Create a better filing system in my room to avoid clutter and distress
  • Save more money for unforeseeable future plans
  • Treat myself to more facials and other pampering treatments (have t0 finish my facial package before it expires in March!!!)
  • More gym sessions and out door sports activities such as hiking, biking, tennis, bowling, etc

  • Patience is a virtue – never forget that
  • Listen more and speak less
  • Seek to understand then to be understood
  • Keep a calm mind and don’t get agitated easily (both in work or personal life related issues)
  • Don’t rush through life- take notice of the smaller things because they are usually the bigger things in life

  • Be open to new opportunities and take chances in life
  • Participate in more social events and meet new people, such as art gallery exhibitions, charities, reunion dinners, etc
  • Enlarge my network of people for my new PR role at the Toastmasters club and master the skill of public speaking
  • Keep blogging and be open to new ideas by other bloggers in the blogosphere world
  • Take a class or learn a new hobby (look into Photoshop, make up, or art related short courses)
  • Try out recipes that i’ve collected in the past from magazines or bloggers, to improve my cooking skills

Photo source: We heart it

13 Comments

Filed under Fun, Life

13 responses to “New Year “Words” 2012

  1. Such an inspiring post, I definitely agree!

  2. May

    Great three new words Cinz! What I like about your blog is that it is not just about pictures, you actually write about things and experiences too. I have added your blog to my list of favourite in the blog roll, as I keep coming back to your blog to see your new posts…so please keep writing! Congratulations on the new PR role too!! I am changing careers and hoping to start a PR internship soon….still waiting for a start date so fingers crossed! 🙂
    Thank you so much for your sweet comments on my blog as I really enjoy reading them and appreciate the time you took to write to me. I really like yoga and do it at home once a week. I took a course at a yoga centre which a more spiritual type of yoga called the Sivananda Yoga. It is about improving flexibility but at the same time it is also about building core strength, body alignment, calming the mind and staying healthy. I find that when I am tired or have an aching body, then doing yoga really helps me to feel better and loosen up. And please do continue reading the Eat, Pray, Love book….as once you get towards the end of the India experience it becomes more interesting. Here’s hoping that we will both be able to achieve and maintain that sense of balance throughout 2012! Have a fabulous weekend sweety!
    May xx
    walkinginmay.blogspot.com

  3. Very inspiring Cinz! Hope you fulfill all these things. I love the Moleskine, I’m a huge fan of their stationary and keep a diary and a notebook. They just feel so good! Happy New Year again to you 😀

  4. This is such a great idea! New Year Words is much better than actually coming up with concrete resolutions, that are harder to keep. Good luck with all of these and I’ll be making the most of any opportunities that come my way as well.

  5. great resolutions! have a good year 🙂

  6. Ps- that Pic was actually me wearing my hair up with the odango bun haha! Not my sis! Hope you have a lovely weekend Cinz!

  7. What a heart touching, inspiring post! I agree with patience and opportunity so much…and love too! Thanks for this :). Hope your weekend is going extremely well, Cinzee

  8. This is such a lovely post, Cinz. Makes me feel reflective on what I need to focus more on this year. I have no aims or targets that I have set myself. I usually do but I’m just going to cruise through 2012 and see how it pans out! Thanks for the comments on the book, i think it’s available at Page One bookshop. I should’ve asked David what the stockists were! xxx

  9. I enjoyed reading your post and new resolutions. There are so many I want to add to mine 🙂 Great post, and have a great day, Cinz! xo akiko

    Style Imported

  10. Stunning post and such wise words!! I know all of this an more will happen for you in 2012.
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  11. I love that you focused on three words and broke them down further. That’s such a great idea and your list is wonderful. Love that you included treats for yourself such as facials and junk food! lol This is a New Year resolutions list that no one would dread doing 🙂

  12. swisshera

    Its nice that you actually took the time and effort to write these down! Keep it up, and more importantly, stay positive. You took a really big step forward and I am so glad that things are going quite well for you, except your sleepless nites. Get some sleep!

  13. Great resolutions! I love how you categorized everything – good luck with sticking to it! I haven’t stuck to mine very well, haha

Leave a Reply

