Visiting Beautiful Copenhagen

With Denmark being reported as one of the happiest country in the world, it’s no wonder one must take at least one trip, to this wonderful land of happiness. As Copenhagen is my home town, i always go back to visit families and this city never fails to take my breath away.  And my visit back home last Christmas was no exception. If you are ever planning to visit Copenhagen, here are a list of my top things to do so you can make the most out of your trip.

One of my favorite things to do in Copenhagen is to walk by foot as it’s a relatively small city, and just admire the history and architect that this historical Nordic city has to offer. Museums and galleries are always in my agenda when i go traveling, and i feel it’s a fun way to understand more about a country. Amalienborg is the winter residence of the Danish royal family and definitely a must see. Take a walk along Amalienborg Palace, which consists of the four rococo palaces, and take photos of their majestic and historical  buildings.

If you are at the Amalienborg Palace during noon time, you will even be able to experience the change of guards in the court yard, where the Royal Life Guards are dressed in their distinctive black and blue uniform. However, you can also witness their vibrant red and blue uniform during special occasions or ceremonies, such as birthdays, weddings, anniversaries, and etc, within the royal family.

securedownload-22

securedownload-14

securedownload-31

You can also visit the Amalienborg Museum  if time permits, and understand the history about the Danish royal family. You are allowed to take photos inside the museum but you will need to pay for this. The dining room was one of the rooms that impressed me the most, which was where Christian X and Queen Alexandrine used at the time. The white detailing of the dining table, chairs, and cabinets, along with the golden wall gives it a very royal look. The lovely plates hung on the golden wall were actually wedding gifts for Christian X and Queen Alexandrine in 1898.

And if you want a little souvenir, you can check out their shop where they sell post cards and books relating to the royal family, and some other cute Danish souvenirs. One of my most common souvenir purchases are magnets and postcards and this shop was like heaven for me. In fact, i’m a collector of magnets and postcards for every country or city i visit.

2013 Dec 383

2013 Dec 390

1920435_10153945002960425_835225201_n

You can also do a quick stop over at the Marble Church (Frederiks Kirke), which is located on the west of Amalienborg Palace, and is only a mere 10 – 15 minutes walk away. Admiring this beauty from a far or close up is just as exquisite. The dome of the Marble church is also known to be the largest church dome in Scandinavia (according to wikipedia). If the exterior of this church is not enough to impress you, then take a walk into the church itself and experience a magical moment, where you will walk into a space of serenity. The dark and quiet ambiance along with with candles lit up, against these tall concrete walls and a beautiful  ceiling of the dome, was enough to take my breath away.

securedownload-23

2013 Dec 349

2013 Dec 343

1779205_10153944953760425_60084786_n

1795587_10153944953765425_1246497470_n

1507589_10153944953755425_1617997457_n

After a long day of walking and if you want to take a break but not go too far, then look no further then visiting the Mormors Cafe (Grandmother’s cafe in English translation), which is also near Amalienborg Palace, located on Bredgade 45, Copenhagen 1260. You can find more details on their website here. My friend and i happened to stumble upon this local cafe by accident, as it started to rain, and we were tired and hungry. The cafe has a very traditional homey ambiance to it, with the floral wallpaper, wooden chairs and table, and old white cabinets to display their goodies. It’s almost sort of a moment you experience when you’re visiting your grandmother in her old cottage house.

I’m not sure if this cafe is a popular spot in Copenhagen but it definitely is a cosy and quiet place to chill with friends. I ordered a cappuccino and their home made apple crumble cake with cream, and was more than happy to stay out of the cold. It was just the perfect way to end our night.

securedownload-30

securedownload-24

securedownload-25

Photo source: all photos by me

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Travel

6 responses to “Visiting Beautiful Copenhagen

  1. Such a beautiful city, I hope I am lucky enough to visit one day. Thanks for sharing these photo’s.
    Laura. xx

    http://www.stylishvue.blogspot.com

  2. I’ve heard such wonderful things about Copenhagen! I really need to visit. It’s on my list, after Vienna!

  3. I love your blog. Your photos are amazing, what software do you use? I’m looking to buy some.
    Beth x

    http://www.TheBritishGirl.co.uk

  4. I need to visit Copenhagen! My friend used to live there so I am kicking myself that I never visited while she was there! Definitely need to visit at some point. Your pics are fab!

  5. Wow. Such stunning views. I am sure it was amazing in person.

  6. Ah so inspiring, I hope to travel soon. That is what is nice about European cities…they are all walkable, unlike most American cities with a few exceptions NY, Boston, Chicago, though a few others you can pull it off but not as easy Seattle, Portland, Minneapolis…

    Allie of ALLIE NYC
    allienyc.com

Leave a comment